Best/Worst Burrito

Posted: July 29, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I was reading one of those bullshit lists the other day about the best burrito in the city. I eagerly clicked on the article, only to see a whole entire article of specious bullshit. My issues ranged from the fact it only covered about three districts–omitted entirely the Excelsior, the Bayview, and the Sunset, and it lost all credibility at the notation of giving La Taqueria on Mission and 25th a spot on the list. That place makes the best tacos on the planet, but their burritos? Not worth it. Not even close.

 

(One of such lists, but not the exact one I’m referring to: http://sfist.com/2013/10/09/best_places_to_get_a_burrito_in_san.php )

I know I’m usually prone to complaints about the neighborhood–and I have a fucking ton. But one constant is our lack of exposure on lists like these–because this is our fucking bread and butter. How the shit do you leave one of the only neighborhoods that still has a sizable Latino population and talk about how the best burrito place is on Union street?

Here’s my rundown:

Best Burrito: Taqueria Guadalajara–so here’s the rub–this place definitely serves best burrito for my tastes in the hood, assuredly one of the best in the city. Service is quick, staff is fine, prices are awesome. Pretty hard to shit on this place–it only loses points in that the flavor isn’t exactly consistent–it ranges from one of the best flavors to ever pass my lips to “fuck man, I wanted sushi. Should have totally just gotten sushi.”

Honorable mentions: El Farolito, Don Chuys.

One I’ve never tried but should have to keep the list honest: Taqueria Vallarta.

Worst Burrito: La Iguana Azul

This one, was, sadly easier than expected. If I looked past everything about this past that was shady (a lot is shady) and it is shady-the burrito is objectively bad. Chewy meat (bit down on a piece of cartilage too–that’s not great for experiencing mediocre flavoring), overall bland outside of the cheese flavoring of which there was enough of…or more than enough of.

I’ve been here three times, and I can say the staff here is almost ironically the most friendly–considering. But I have to say this place hasn’t killed me or anything, some really hold no ill will for the spot. But even the Yelp pictures don’t exactly do the place favors–EVEN when paired with good reviews: https://i0.wp.com/s3-media2.fl.yelpcdn.com/bphoto/BWjkMoGIGToJR511IXpJiw/ls.jpg

“MMM…Shrimp covered in mustardy jizzy looking stuff. And a 90% foil background? GET OUT. WHAT AM I EVEN DOING HERE READING THIS?!?! I GOTTA GO EAT HERE!”

 

But let me clear this: I’ve not had any other food here. So if this place is worth it’s shit in other arenas–I’m NOT your huckleberry.

maxresdefault

(I’M your Huckleberry, dummy)

So as an open end: did I miss anything? In this nice summer weather, I’m actually willing to engage an open mind instead of cursing at you–what is our best Burrito place? And more hilariously, what’s the worst and why?

Comments
  1. GoldenGateShark says:

    All of the food in The X sucks. Burritos are no exception.

  2. MissionHeights says:

    Don Chuys is solid place for burritos and taqueria style Mexican food, although I always pass on their sliced kraft cheese. It’s walking distance from my house- so that’s a plus too. El Farolito is decent also. Those are the only two I’ve been too. I here taqueria guadelara has great breakfast burritos, gotta try it out. La Corneta on diamond is worth the walk for me…

  3. GoldenGateShark says:

    this blog has really gone downhill

  4. Bob O'Brien says:

    Thank you for writing all this shit down, it’s a really cool picture of a neighborhood. Your passion and logic are brought to life through humor. I just started looking in the hood as the prices are still lower than Glen Park or around the area, and up til the last post I have a very clear image of what it’s like. I wonder if you still live there. Thanks, anyway, for the effort.

Leave a comment